pastervideos.blogg.se

Wd my passport external hard drive review
Wd my passport external hard drive review







wd my passport external hard drive review
  1. #WD MY PASSPORT EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE REVIEW SOFTWARE#
  2. #WD MY PASSPORT EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE REVIEW MAC#

WD includes a nice suite of software tools for backing up, encrypting data, and taking care of formatting and other drive-related chores.

#WD MY PASSPORT EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE REVIEW MAC#

Just in case you were wondering, Gen 2 10Gbps USB would needlessly increase cost, as Gen 1 offers more than enough bandwidth for any hard drive setup that’s not using RAID 0 or another striped format.įor Mac users, there’s a version (formatted in HFS+) of the My Passport rendered in “midnight blue.” It’s $10 more, but ships with a micro-B to Type-C cable in addition to the regular version’s micro-B to Type-A. The drive is Gen 1 5Gbps, but supports the USB 3.2 feature set. On the business end of the drive you’ll find a powered micro-B USB port and power indicator. In the overall scheme of things, grip is more important than a flashy sheen, as dropping your hard drive on a hard surface could ruin your whole day. A follow up of the ‘My Passport Edge’, this. Grip is somewhat increased because of the matte finish. If you’re on the search for a well-built, compact and reliable storage device for your media, the Western Digital My Passport Ultra could be your answer. At least that’s my interpretation of the motivation. The latest My Passport Drives have a nice angled two-tone color scheme with one half of the top scalloped for grip. The WD My Passport sports an angled two-tone motif and is available with a black, blue or red top. I miss the other colors, and so will anyone who was rotating them daily for backups.

wd my passport external hard drive review

That’s three fewer than the last iteration, which also came in white, orange, and yellow. The My Passport ships in three hues: black, blue, and red. (Note that if this drive is like other WD My Passports, you’ll likely find a decent discount if you shop around.) All capacities carry a three-year warranty. The 5TB My Passport measures 4.22 x 2.95 x 0.75 inches and weighs 0.46 pounds. It’s also available in 1TB, 2TB, and 4TB capacities, with the 1TB and 2TB versions being thinner at 0.44 inches and weighing only 0.27 pounds. Go there for details on competing products and how we tested them.

wd my passport external hard drive review

This review is part of our roundup of best external drives. At $150 retail, you pay $30 more than the previous top-capacity 4TB unit, but that’s the same price as its Seagate Expansion rival, as well as one-fifth the price per gigabyte of SSDs. WD Discovery can also manage your drive through WD Drive Utilities. Seamlessly import, organise, and share your photos, videos, and docs to the My Passport drive to backup your online social life. WD’s My Passport external 2.5-inch USB 3.0 hard drive is now available in up to 5TB in capacity, which means you can stuff even more data in your pocket than with the last iteration. Included WD Discovery software lets you connect to popular social media and cloud storage services like Facebook, Dropbox, and Google Drive.









Wd my passport external hard drive review